The First Post: How I Got HERE

Hi Friends!

Thank you so much for checking out my blog; it means a lot! I really hope you enjoy navigating through my posts and learning more about my journey to becoming healthy and fit!

IMG_5309

So just a little background on me and how I got here:

This past June (2014), I was browsing through my personal Instagram and there was a picture that caught my interest: one of my friends was holding up a book titled “The Bikini Body Guide.” In her caption she mentioned that she had just started doing this guide (BBG) to get in shape after pregnancy. I thought, “hmmmmm….I wanna know more about this.” I was led to @kayla_itsines page by clicking on the tag, and I soon learned that Kayla is the creator of these guides. Immediately, I was intrigued as I browsed through her page and saw all these amazing transformation pictures of regular girls like me! I was so used to seeing fitness models and random people on TV and in magazines who were super ripped, but wasn’t used to seeing normal every-day girls like myself achieve such awesome results. I have always had the desire (or maybe I should say “dream”) to have a super nice body, but I guess I had never been exposed to the right tools to get me there. So I proceeded to spend a lot of time looking through Kayla’s page and learning about her guides. Long story short, I purchased both the H.E.L.P. guide and the Workout guide and got started on both soon after. I was COMPLETELY new to clean-eating–like total rookie–literally had not a CLUE as to how to eat healthy. I was a total pro at eating a lot of sweets and processed junk though! Kayla’s HELP guide educated me on how and why to eat clean, and I slowly started to incorporate healthy, whole foods into my diet. I can say now that I’m a total believer and LOVE eating clean. Additionally, the workouts were challenging but fun, and they made me feel SO good.

Unknown-1

Obviously, you can see from my transformation pictures below that I have achieved awesome results from sticking to these plans, just like many other fabulous women out there. There was no “secret” or “quick fix” to attaining my dream body, and amazingly, that idea really attracted me to her guides. For once, there wasn’t another crazy fad diet in front of me; there was the TRUTH. The truth is that in order to achieve your goals, you gotta work HARD. And that is what sold me. I’m goal-oriented, so I knew I could do it.

IMG_9399

Left picture: start date (June 2014)// Middle picture: 12 weeks in (September 2014)// Right picture: 24 weeks in (December 2014)

So many blessings have come from changing my lifestyle. Obviously, besides the fact that I now have what I consider a “bikini body” and feel super confident with that aspect of my life, other amazing things have happened as a result of making this decision. My husband has lost 20 pounds after jumping on the clean-eating bandwagon. He is now working out at a CrossFit gym every day. I have priceless knowledge about health that I can pass onto my daughter as she grows up. I have WAY more energy than I used to. I am stronger, both physically and mentally. My immediate family members have jumped on board with eating healthy and working out. I have been able to share my journey on Instagram (you can follow me: @fabnfitlinz) and have made some awesome friends with ladies who are on the same journey as me. I feel blessed to be able to inspire women to change their mindsets and their bodies, because I myself have done it. There are SO many more benefits that I could list.

Overall, I feel very lucky to be where I am now, and I figured it was finally time to launch a blog so I can share even MORE about my journey. RECIPES. FITNESS POSTS. TIPS AND TRICKS. MEAL PREP IDEAS. And the list goes on.

Thank you for being a part of my journey, and I hope you leave here feeling uplifted and motivated to take charge of YOU. You’re the only person who can make you truly happy, and I now know that living a healthy lifestyle is one of the KEYS to finding that happiness.

Unknown

xoxo-

L

Leave a Reply

